DeVos Prize

coaster drafts: Favors

Posted in drafting by digitalrituals on August 20, 2009

favors

 

 

Grand Rapids Press 5.19.09

[…]
Q: How does that tie in with the gay marriage issue?

A: From that point on, that’s when they were hanging me in effigy because I wasn’t sympathetic to all of their requests for special treatment. Because at that time it was always somebody else’s fault. And I said, “You are responsible for your actions, too, you know. Conduct yourself properly,” which is a pretty solid Christian principle. You’ve got to take responsibility for your actions. It went from there to a series of requests for special treatment.

I would say, “I understand who you are. I accept who you are. Live your life. I will respect you. But don’t keep asking for favors.” Don’t ask for a concession on the marriage issue, which is not vital to them, in my opinion. They’ve made it a vital issue because they want to.

Q: Is there a solution? A compromise you would support?

A: Call it something else. Call it anything you want to. But marriage is a sacred document, OK? A sacred sacrament in the church and in the world. Don’t mess with it.

Go do something else. I deal with a lot of wonderful gay people. I hire a lot of them. I use a lot of them. I respect them. They’re terrific. I am good friends with them. But you live your life the way you want to live and I’ll live mine and I won’t stick my nose in yours. But don’t keep trying to change things. That’s all.
[…]

 


 

Grand Rapids Press 5.20.09

[…]
In 2000, controversy erupted at Grand Valley State University when then-president Arend Lubbers called for benefits for same-sex partners of faculty members. As The Press reported: “He then retreated, following objections from Amway co-founder Richard DeVos, a major donor to the college. President Mark Murray reaffirmed that decision in 2001.”
[…]

 


 

Grand Rapids Press 5.23.09

[…]
The Dick and Betsy DeVos Foundation has made a multi-year commitment to provide the prize money.
[…]

Leave a Reply

